When I restore Google Drive/OneDrive data, it has a checkbox to create a new folder for restoring the files. Is this a recommended process?

Yes. It is recommended to create a new folder for restoring files. It will be easier to locate the restored files if they are in a new folder.

If you uncheck this option, the file will be restored to its original folder location.